11
May
09

Where the hell have i been !?

I think i owe an explanation for the 10 people who read this blog.

Well, a lot has happened over the past couple months. I wasn’t happy with the way things were turning out. My funds were too short to go back to school and finding work is damn near impossible. So to occupy my time I began writing and recording my songs on my simple home set up.

6672689

When i showed my friends and family what i’ve been working on, they told me i should send out the songs and seriously pursue a record deal.

* Fast forward a couple of months * 

After exchanging emails and phone calls, I found myself at the cutting room studios in New York city. They’ve worked with many big name artists such as, Prince, Linkin Park, Mos Def, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Jay-z and more. I was sweating with nervousness in their lobby as i stared at all of the gold and platinum records on the walls. This place is about as legit as it gets.

6344140-94876d29fb3e8c2048d752fbc8dfc46c.4a0836fe-full

I was greeted by the manager Patrick and he basically took me on a tour of the studio. Im pretty sure my jaw was on the floor the entire time lol. After the tour we sat down in the production room and he introduced me to one of the producer/engineers E-shy. After i explained to them my sound and concept, we popped in my demo and listened. At this point my heart was racing, my friends and family had nothing but nice things to say but now im sitting with people who do this professionally.

As soon as the song started up, they turned to each other and smirked followed Feet tapping and head nodding. Needless to say they were pretty impressed.

* fast forward *

IMG_2474

After working on arrangements and little ideas here and there, it was finally time to get started on recording. I was fortunate enough to work with Nir Z (genesis, john mayer, chris cornell). He definitely took my songs to the next level.

IMG_2477

i’ve never seen so many microphones on one kit.

IMG_2478

the man himself

IMG_2482

E-shy, myself, Nir

So this is where I’m at right now. Perfecting my solo’s and restringing my guitars for tracking. This summer is going to be amazing. I can’t wait to get this finished so i can put it out and fish for a deal, I think a lot of people will enjoy it !

This blog isn’t dead of course. I’ve just been busy as you can see. now back to our regularly scheduled program !

-Renee

10 Responses to “Where the hell have i been !?”


  1. May 11, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    that’s rad man, congrats taking your music to the next level! orange amps ftw btw! 😀

  2. 3 fozz
    May 11, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    good job !

  3. 4 meeee
    May 12, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    soooo proud of you baby!!!

  4. 5 3L
    May 16, 2009 at 7:34 am

    is there any way I can hear any of ur stuff?

  5. May 16, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    that’s awesome. hope you’re having fun

  6. 9 dropjay
    May 17, 2009 at 5:29 am

    Congrats Renee!
    That is serious.
    So stoked for you !


Leave a Reply

